GAY global news

Cher reveals her version of ABBA’s SOS

Written by gaytourism

Cher (Photo: Warner Bros)

Cher has revealed her cover version of the ABBA classic, SOS.

The singer and actor posted the 40-second snippet to her Twitter within the last hour.

The audio for the entire track has been posted to her official YouTube channel.

[embedded content]

Mamma Mia and Dancing Queen

Cher features in the Mamma Mia sequel, released to movie theaters last month. Whilst giving promotional interviews for the movie, she revealed that she recorded a whole album of ABBA covers. That album gets released 28 September. It’s her first album in five years.

As a taster, she released her version of Gimme Gimme (A Man After Midnight) earlier this month.

Like that track, SOS sticks pretty faithfully to the ABBA original.

In a tweet in July, the singer revealed nine out of the ten tracks to feature on the album.

  1. Waterloo
  2. Gimme, Gimme, Gimme
  3. Dancing Queen
  4. Chiquititta
  5. The Name of the Game
  6. Mamma Mia
  7. One of Us
  8. Winner Takes It All
  9. SOS
  10. ???

Since its release in late July, Mamma Mia: Here We Go Again has taken over $320million ($276million) at the global box office.

Meanwhile, ABBA fans are eagerly awaiting the first new material from the Swedish supergroup in 35 years. The four members confirmed in April that they had been in the studio together again.

I Still Have Faith In You is the name of one of two new tracks from the group, with both expected to debut in December.

See also

Cher has made an album of ABBA covers and now we need some SOS

Björn Ulvaeus teases ABBA reunion, addresses whether there will be new album

Got a news tip? Want to share your story? Email us .